SHAHEED BHAGAT SINGH (EVENING) COLLEGE <u>UNIVERSITY OF DELHI</u>

MINUTES OF THE EMERGENT MEETING OF THE GOVERNING BODY HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 6th JUNE, 2018 AT 6:00 P.M. IN THE COLLEGE PREMISES.

An emergent meeting of the Governing Body of the College was held on Wednesday, 6th June, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. in the Committee Room of the College.

The following members were present:

1. Shri Abhishek Gupta, Chairman

(in Chair)

- 2. Shri Narendra Kumar, Treasurer
- 3. Shri Amit Kumar Mittal, Member
- 4. Ms. Usha Jagnik, Member
- 5. Ms. Mitalee Rishi, Member
- 6. Dr. Meenakshi Gopinath, Member
- 7. Prof. Tahir Hussain, Member
- 8. Shri R.C. Jain, Teacher Representative, Day College
- 9. Shri Santosh, Teacher Representative, Day College
- 10. Dr. Anupam Goswami, Teacher Representative, Evening College
- 11. Mr. Mani Sagar, Teacher Reprsentative, Evening College
- 12. Shri Gopal Ram, Special Invitee (Other than teachers), Day College
- 13. Shri Dinesh Dhawan, Special Invitee (Other than teachers), Evening College
- 14. Dr. P. K. Khurana, Principal, Day College and Acting Principal, Evening College/Member Secretary

It was reported that Dr. P. K. Khurana joined on 03 July, 2015 as Principal, Shaheed Bhagat Singh College (Day) after obtaining Extra-Ordinary Leave (EOL) with lien from the post of Prinicpal, Shaheed Bhagat Singh (Evening) College. However, he was directed by the Governing Body to look after the Evening College as its Acting Principal and this proposal of the Governing Body was approved by the University of Delhi vide its letter No. CS-SDC/114/Prin-SBSC(M)/2015/270 dated 21st July, 2015 till further order.

It was further reported that Dr. Khurana vide his letter dated 20th March, 2018 has requested the Chairman, Governing Body to relieve him of the charge of the Acting Principal of Shaheed Bhagat Singh (Evening) College. In compliance with the direction from the University of Delhi to make necessary arrangements in terms of Clause 7(3) of Ordinance XVIII of the University of Delhi, the Chairman, Governing Body had invited applications from all the Associate Professors who would be interested to act as Acting/Officiating Principal, Shaheed Bhagat Singh (Evening) College vide his notice dated 03-04-2018. This

1 Page

notice was put up on the College Website and also emailed to all the Associate Professors of the College. It was delivered in person to those who did not have their e-mail ids.

As per College records, there are 38 Associate Professors on the rolls of the College as on 3rd April, 2018. Of the 38, one Dr. Satish Kumar, Department of Political Science is on deputation to the University as O.S.D. (Examinations) and another Dr. Rabi Narayan Kar, Department of Commerce is on Extra-Ordinary Leave (EOL) to join Shyam Lal College, University of Delhi as Principal. **The following 13 Associate Professors were not eligible**

as they did not have Ph.D. Degree:

- 1. Shri D.K. Jain
- 2. Shri Raman Chawla
- 3. Shri R.P. Tulsian
- 4. Smt. Manushi Khan
- 5. Shri J.P. Kachi
- 6. Shri Y.P. Tyagi
- 7. Shri Sheo Dutt
- 8. Shri Lalli
- 9. Shri S.K. Sinha
- 10. Shri Dinesh Kumar
- 11. Shri Mahesh Chand Sharma
- 12. Shri Charu Mittal
- 13. Shri Vinod J. Kaul

The following 21 teachers were eligible but did not apply for the post:

- 1. Dr. Ramjas
- 2. Dr. N.K. Puri
- 3. Dr. Satish Chander Jain
- 4. Dr. V.K. Anand
- 5. Dr. Damyanti Devi
- 6. Dr. Sabina Pillai
- 7. Dr. S.K. Grover
- 8. Dr. Harminder Kumar
- 9. Dr. Vijay Lata
- 10. Dr. Sharmilla Purukayshta
- 11. Dr. Omkar Singh Deol
- 12. Dr. Anupam Goswami
- 13. Dr. Satish Kumar (Department of Hindi)
- 14. Dr. Ravi Shekhar
- 15. Dr. V.S. Negi
- 16. Dr. Vaneeta Chandna
- 17. Dr. S.K. Jain
- 18. Dr. H.K. Singh
- 19. Dr. C.S. Dubey
- 20. Dr. Arun Kumar
- 21. Dr. Chhavi Sharma

The following 02 Associate Professors were eligible and they applied for the post:

- 1. Dr. Ajay Kumar Mehra, Department of Political Science
- 2. Dr. S.K. Bandooni, Department of Geography

It was further reported that the Screening Committee as per guidelines of the University of Delhi was constituted to screen the above two applications to determine whether they meet the requirement of consolidated API score of 400 points from Category-II and III on API (cumulative). The Screening Committee met on 6th June, 2018 at 4:00 p.m. and awarded the API score to both the candidates in order of API score obtained by them as per details given below:

S.No.	Name of the Candidate	API Score obtained
1.	Dr. Ajay Kumar Mehra	607.50
2.	Dr. S. K. Bandooni	379.50

The Governing Body was informed that in accordance with Clause 7(3) of Ordinance XVIII "in case there is no Vice- Principal, the Senior Most Teacher shall act as Principal. The Teacher so to act as Principal shall fulfill the minimum eligibility requirements for appointment as Principal of the College. Such temporary appointment shall be made ordinarily for a period of not exceeding 06 months and shall require the prior approval of the University."

Dr. Khurana informed that Dr. Ajay Kumar Mehra is senior to Dr. S.K. Bandooni and is due for retirement on 30th November, 2018.

Considering the above facts, the Governing Body unanimously resolved to recommend that the name of Dr. Ajay Kumar Mehra be approved for appointment as Acting/Officiating Principal of Shaheed Bhagat Singh (Evening) College for the period till he retires or Dr. P.K. Khurana joins back as Principal, Shaheed Bhagat Singh (Evening) College.

This Resolution of the Governing Body be forwarded to the University of Delhi for its approval.

However, the Governing Body unanimously expressed the view that too swift changes in the position of Principal would not be in the larger interest of the College. Therefore, the University may also consider this aspect and allow the existing arrangement to continue till Dr. Khurana retires in July, 2019. The Governing Body shall initiate steps for filling up post

3 | Page

10,01

of Principal both SBSC (Day) & SBSC (Evening) three months prior to retirement of Dr. Khurana in July, 2019.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Dr. P.K. Khurana) Principal/Member Secretary

(Abhishek Gupta) Chairma

.....